2023 TÜBA GEBIP and TESEP Awards Announced

2023 TÜBA GEBIP and TESEP Awards Announced

This year's recipients of the TÜBA-GEBİP (Outstanding Young Scientist) and TÜBA-TESEP (Scientific Authored Book) awards, which are carried out under the auspices of the Presidency, have been announced. The awards will be presented by President Recep Tayyip Erdoğan at the traditional ceremony to be held at the Presidential Complex.

In 2023, a total of 34 exceptionally successful young scientists from 24 different universities, including the Ahmet and Nezahat Keleşoğlu TÜBA-GEBİP Pharmacy Special Award, won the TÜBA-GEBİP Award. This award holds special significance for promoting Türkiye in the international scientific community and fostering relationships, as well as encouraging young scientists to continue their research in Türkiye. With these new awardees, the total number of scientists who have received the TÜBA-GEBİP Award has now risen to 644.

Within the scope of the Scientific Authored Book (TESEP), which aims to encourage the production of qualified copyrighted works for universities; In 2023, a total of 9 works were found worthy of awards, including 2 works in the field of Natural and Engineering Sciences, 4 works in the field of Social Sciences, 1 work with Halil İnalcık Special Award, 1 work with Mehmet Genç Special Award and 1 work with Kemal Karpat Special Award. In addition, 4 works in the field of Social Sciences were given the Noteworthy Work (Honorable Mention) Award. In 2023, 13 works were awarded in this context and the number of works awarded within the scope of TESEP has increased to 239.

Commenting on the awards, TÜBA President Prof. Dr. Muzaffer Şeker said that in the 100th anniversary of the Republic, they continue their work with great care based on centuries of experience. He reminded that the Academy has completed its 172nd anniversary since Encümen-i Daniş and its 30th anniversary with the Republic.

Stating that giving awards to ensure the spread of scientific approach and thought in society, to encourage young scientists, and to encourage scientism are among the main duties of the Academy, President Şeker pointed out that the TÜBA GEBİP and TESEP Award programs have been carried out for many years and said, "This year we are experiencing the enthusiasm of the 100th anniversary on behalf of our country. The results of the GEBİP and TESEP applications, which have been meticulously evaluated by the scientific committees for a long time, have made us proud this year as every year and further increased our hopes for the future. With the GEBIP Award, 34 more scientists joined us as natural members of the TÜBA Young Academy. I would like to thank the authors of our 13 works, which were deemed worthy of the award as a result of their qualified studies, for their valuable copyrighted works and their contributions to the scientific community. I congratulate our academics and authors who are entitled to receive awards, and I would like to express that we are always with them in their future works. I would like to express my gratitude to our President for his auspices."

About Outstanding Young Scientists Awards (GEBİP)
It has been awarded since 2001 to encourage and reward outstanding young scientists working in the fields of natural sciences, engineering, health sciences and social sciences to continue their scientific studies in Türkiye, to form their own working groups, and to publish internationally qualified projects and publications originating from Türkiye. Within the scope of the program, which is unique and in high demand, in addition to the financial support of 50 thousand liras per year for 3 years, an additional support of 15 thousand liras per year for doctoral students at the thesis stage and consultancy by members of the academy are provided.

About Scientific Authored Book Awards
It is given to encourage the writing and publication of qualified scientific copyrighted works at the university level in all fields of science. The program, which was initiated in 2008 and was called TEÇEP, where copyrighted and translated works were awarded until 2016, was decided to continue as TESEP, which aims to encourage copyrighted works as of 2017. Within the scope of TÜBA-TESEP Awards, the Academy Council awards the "Halil İnalcık Special Award", "Mehmet Genç Special Award" and "Kemal Karpat Special Award" to works published in certain fields of science in the name of TÜBA Honorary Members who have added value to world science and honored our country with their national and international achievements. In 2023, 40 thousand liras for the TESEP Copyright Award, Halil İnalcık Special Award, Mehmet Genç Special Award and Kemal Karpat Special Award, and 20 thousand liras for the Noteworthy Copyright Award (honorable mention) are paid to the award winners.