TÜBA-Fuat Sezgin Awards / 2019

The Academy established the "Fuat Sezgin Awards" in the name of the late Prof. Dr. Fuat Sezgin, an Honorary Member who passed away in 2018, in order to appreciate and encourage successful scientists and institutions and qualified scientific studies in the History of Science, History of Islamic Science and related fields.

As part of TÜBA's mission to encourage and recognize scientists, President Recep Tayyip Erdoğan declared 2019 as the "Year of Prof. Dr. Fuat Sezgin". As a result of the evaluation of the applications made to the award program established by the Academy in 2019 in the name of the late TÜBA Honorary Member Fuat Sezgin by the referee committees, a total of five awards including "Outstanding Young Scientist, Work, Special (Service, Individual and Institutional)" found their owners.

Prof. Dr. Atilla Bir was deemed worthy of the Fuat Sezgin Service Special Award for his contributions in bringing the works of Islamic science and technology of the classical period together with their contemporary interpretation to today's scientific life and future generations.

Prof. Dr. İhsan Fazlıoğlu was awarded the Fuat Sezgin Individual Special Award for his original and significant contributions to national and international research and education studies in the field of "History of Science and Islamic History of Science".


Istanbul Al-Jazari Museum received the Fuat Sezgin Institutional Special Award for translating the work of Al-Jazari, one of the most important inventors and engineers of Islamic civilization, on his extraordinary machines into Turkish and creating a contemporary museum with the reconstruction of the technological devices in the work.

The Encyclopedia of Islam (TDV/ISAM) was awarded the Fuat Sezgin Work Award for constituting the basic reference framework for scientific research in all fields of Islamic science, art, thought, technique, culture and civilization, and naturally in the field of history of science.


Assoc. Prof. Dr. Halil Tekiner received the Fuat Sezgin Outstanding Young Scientist Award for his original studies in the field of Ottoman-Turkish history of medicine and pharmacy and the significant contributions of his ongoing projects to the History of Islamic Science.